Wednesday, March 26, 2014

The Up's and Down's in Running and Life

I think I would rather run down this hill.....


Hill training is quite possibly the bane of every distance runner. I mean, can't it be enough that I'm awake, mostly dressed and running? Do I really have to tackle Mt. Rushmore to feel like I accomplished something?

Yes, Yes you do. And here is why-

http://www.runnersworld.com/race-training/mastering-hill-workouts
(For all the nitty gritty go ahead and read this article on Runners World..or stay on this page for my recap of above article combined with snarky comments (you know you want to). 

" The weight lifter looking to improve his maximum bench press doesn't add lighter-weight reps to his workout. He doesn't do his reps more quickly. Instead, he increases the weight on the bar, thereby increasing the force required to complete his reps.

It's the same with running. If we want to get stronger and faster, we must increase the force requirements of our workout. Tempo runs, time trials and fast reps on the track are good, but they don't generate maximum force. Hills do."

Different hills work different muscle fibers and since we want to be as strong and as fast as possible we need to incorporate all types of hill training.

 The first hill to add to your arsenal is the long hill run: This is done by simply adding a hill or two to your long run that is moderate in incline and about 1/2 mile long. Run this at a an easy pace and as your strength builds add up to 3 miles of hills to your run. This has several benefits:
  • Increases the percentage of slow-twitch fiber recruited
  • Creates extra resistance, strengthening our fibers
  • Increases ankle flexibility, improving our stride
  • Reduces neural inhibition, improving coordination between muscle groups
  • Recruits intermediate fibers, improving coordination between fiber types


Another hill workout to add to your repertoire is long hill/ short hill repeats. Just like the description these are done up a long or short hill and done fast..think 90% effort fast. The best thing about these hill repeats is that you get a one to two minute break in between repeats. So catch your breath while you enjoy the view from the top!

The last hill workout mentioned in this article is called Bounding. This is where you take a moderate hill  and do different types of calisthenics up the hill (think high knees, butt kicks, skipping, etc.). I haven't done this since my cross country days, but I remember it well. You will look cool, feel hot and and build muscle. Win-Win.

In all this hill training don't forget to train downhill as well. Its often neglected but downhill runs are important for building up your quads which will help to protect your knees against injury.  Think thigh gap ladies..okay maybe no thigh gap, just sweet muscly quads and less knee injuries. 


Okay now..time to philosophize..put some Enya and meditate with me.

As I was running today I had a lot of time to reflect on Hills, why I hate them, and how they relate to my life.

You see lately I've been feeling kind of bored with my training, my job and possibly Spokane. I blame winter. Winter makes me crabby. By July I will be all sunshine and smiles again.

So as I was doing this bit of self reflection I thought to myself- "Okay then self...either pack up and move to San Diego..or change something right here.", and as much as I would love to move someplace sunny and 75 all year long, I think the real challenge is to grow where you are planted. Now this is not where I pull out all the corny and well used similes of hills to life's challenges or of reaching the top and reflecting on the valley and blah blah blah.

The real truth is, the only way to enjoy hills (and the never ending Spokane Winter) is to lie to yourself. Repeatedly. Here's how it works. The whole time you are running up that mother of a hill you repeat "You is kind, you is smart, you is important"...okay just kidding, wrong mantra. But do find a mantra that works for you. Some days my mantra is "My butt loves this, Go butt go, High and tight" or something like that. Other days I do chant " I am strong, I am awesome, I'm the King of the Universe" Hey, whatever floats your boat, and those 5 seconds that your mind wandered to think about Leo DiCaprio in Titanic might be enough to get you to the top. This mantra works for surviving winter too. Think " I love that I don't have to wear sunglasses this month, this grey is so much easier on the eyes" or "I love wearing all these layers, so many outfit choices so little time"...


So you have a mantra chosen-sweet. Next step- check your form!

I know this is a touchy subject..no one wants to be called out on their form while running. In fact you don't have to have good form to be a good runner. Go to any race and see what drags on by to prove my point. You see waddlers, arm swingers, hunched shoulders, limps, its quite impressive at times to watch someone run and see how fast they make those awkward motions go. I myself have been told I run like Forrest Gump. I take it as a compliment.

Proper form on a hill can really help get you to the top. Step one, lean your upper body slightly forward starting from your waist to your head. Step two, lift your knees! High knees are essential to eating up that incline. Step Three: Don't forget your arms. The legs can only go as fast as the arms, so when your legs feel tired concentrate on what your arms are doing. Are they tucked up and snuggled into bed all high and tight near your chest?? Yes? WAKE UP ARMS! Your arms should be relaxed (shoulders down) with your wrist hitting right below your waist. They should move forward (sounds simple but picture the "Girl Runner" who flaps her arms to the side of her body while she runs...bad arms, bad!) Visualize that you are on an escalator and you are grabbing the sides as you climb.

How do you check your form in life? Evaluate what hurts, what seems wrong and self correct. Sometime you don't realize your "form" is off until you ask a friend. Maybe take some time with someone who loves you to say hey, what can I do better? Or you seem happy, what's your secret. Take a moment daily to check in with your body and make adjustments. In running and life small changes can reap big rewards.

Last step- Speed

What, what speed you say?? I'm just happy to survive this hill without CPR.True, but to get the most bang for your buck on hill days you need to try and keep as close to your pre-hill pace as possible. Keeping an even pace up the hill and on the decent (no taking a break to look at the view, sorry) is a great way to trick your body into working harder and hill training can actually become speed work!

Speed in life (isn't that illegal???) Nope, I say the busier you are, the more productive you are, the happier you can be! I know I know, we are supposed to simplify our lives, but find something you can be passionate about, maybe an old hobby or talent you have been neglecting and throw some effort at it. The laundry and housework and emails will always be there, but sometimes our brains need something new to work on. Re-direct your efforts to something that makes you smile, or something challenging or new..not only will you be happier, but keeping busy will help speed the Spring to Summer..and no one is sad in Summer! 

So when running hills or moving through life seems tough, find new motivation, get a mantra and just keep climbing.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Marathon training done wrong

Confession time:


I kind of suck at sticking to a training plan. I have such good intentions, really I do! It usually starts after my last Marathon (in my case Missoula  July 2013). I get done and I automatically start to plan how to run the next one faster, stronger and with less cursing.


So being the optimistic runner that I am, I signed up for the Windermere Marathon last October. Yes, October...back when the days were nice and my legs felt strong from a summer of half marathons and 200mile relays. Everything always seems great when looking though a long range scope of 8 months.


In the past I have used multiple training plans...most of them called "whatever you are doing I will follow that plan", more specifically I found this one from Runners World
https://member.rodale.com/cas/login?service=http%3A%2F%2Fsmartcoach.runnersworld.com%2Fsmartcoach%2Fj_acegi_cas_security_check&returnUrl=http://smartcoach.runnersworld.com/smartcoach/my_plan.jsp 

Why this plan you ask? Well, its free..it only makes you run 5 days (or less) a week and it's free and yes I said that twice.."for freeeee" (bonus points to whoever knows what movie that quote is from).

 I liked it well enough until about week 10 of a 22 week plan when it starts adding on the mileage. I mean who has time to run 10-13+ miles on any given M, T, TH, plus 20 on Sat? Not me..especially not during the awesomeness that is Spokane weather in Jan & Feb..

My solution to this plan was to check out another running plan called the Hanson Method.
http://hansonscoachingservices.com/hansons-marathon-method-the-book/

This is a great book, and has been used by a friend of mine to cut her PR by 20 minutes! Another bonus is that your longest run is 16 miles. The premise behind not running over 16 miles is that you are training for the last 20 miles of a Marathon...not the first 20 miles. It makes sense, they have you run Friday about 10+ miles and then 16 on Saturday and 8 on Sunday. So your legs are always tired and crabby. Yes legs get crabby...just trust me.

 The down side is that you run almost every single day. Now in my dream world with my dream body and dream schedule that would be awesome. I would get the kids off to school, eat a hearty breakfast, run 10 miles in the sunshine every day and never get injured.

Well...reality bites right? And not in the good 90's movie way. My reality is that at week 12 of my training plan (also known as hell week since it is when the plan hits the most mileage (upwards of 50miles) or the peak of your training), I am no where near following either one of these plans! Last week I was happy to eek out 40 miles and that included a 20 mile run.I'm kind of taking it day by day and seeing which plan fits my schedule and doing whatever miles I can fit in before the day starts.

Sounds good right? Maybe not. But winter running is not just about -10 degree runs with icy roads and snot icicles. Nope, for me it also also means little boys keep you up with ear infections or tummy aches or the weather or life in general  messes with your schedule.  The best disruption of my training was our family vacation to Cali...ahhhh California Dreaming..If I lived in California I would run every day, along the coast in shorts in a tank top. 
Dave and I after a beautiful run Mission Bay/San Diego





Instead I'm stuck in this...I count 3 layers on bottom and top

So that leaves me with 10 weeks to go before the big day and I am 10 miles behind my weekly goal. Now any good runner knows that you should only increase your weekly mileage by about 10% each week if you don't want to get injured. So I can hit 44 miles this week and add another 10% next week to try and build my mileage in time.  I think I may also have to talk my husband into some daily massages...these hamstrings might not survive without him!

Like anything in life sometimes you have to be flexible and us runners are the most inflexible of anyone (no toe touching for me!). So re-plan, evaluate and maybe lower expectations...it will be okay.

How about you? What training plan (if any) are you using? What do you do when you get off course? Any fun races in your future?


Monday, March 24, 2014

Let's keep this in the Vault


Ah yes, the runners vault.... What is this Vault you ask??

It's the secret and often sacred code of running friends.
It means whatever happens on a run, stays on a run.
It's the clause that allows runners to share with each other things that you just wouldn't share with anyone else.

Couldn't make it the extra 20ft to the bathroom and pooped in your running skirt?
Put it in the vault
Had to take a #2 behind a church dumpster at 5am on Sunday morning?
Vault it
Secretly peed in your pants at the end of a long run (ahem...see last post)or have an embarrassing photo of you wearing a Go Pro Camera strapped to your head?
Vault it and throw away the key... or if you are me, post it for the universe to judge you.

What about this runner who was caught on camera pooping in some guys yard?


http://www.koat.com/news/new-mexico/albuquerque/Runner-poops-in-Yard/21026628 

Since starting this blog I have asked my DRF's (come on now...daily running friends) if they mind if I share our running stories with the Internet.
I mean, my stories are their stories right? And I was told, go ahead, unless it belongs in the vault.

The vault (contrary to my above examples) usually holds the verbal (not physical) diarrhea that comes with running too early in the morning with people you know so well you no longer bother to brush your teeth before meeting.

Its a sacred trust between runners that allows us to share our daily struggles, our family histories and often painful events that would otherwise cost us thousands of dollars and hours on a leather couch to resolve.

You probably already know that running is great for stress relief, but did you also know that exercise releases endorphins, which create feelings of happiness and euphoria. Studies have shown that exercise can even alleviate symptoms among the clinically depressed. For this reason, docs recommend that people suffering from depression or anxiety (or those who are just feeling blue) pencil in plenty of gym time. In some cases, exercise can be just as effective as antidepressant pills in treating depression.
Now if that isn't enough to get you out the door and pounding the pavement consider this: as aging and degenerative diseases like Alzheimer’s kill off brain cells, the noggin actually shrinks, losing many important brain functions in the process. While exercise and a healthy diet can’t “cure” Alzheimer’s, they can help shore up the brain against cognitive decline that begins after age 45. Working out, especially between age 25 and 45, boosts the chemicals in the brain that support and prevent degeneration of the hippocampus, an important part of the brain for memory and learning.
So for your mental health (and mine) find someone to run with, share the love, the stories and the endorphins but what happens on the run, stays in the vault. 
So, what is the funniest/worst thing you have seen while running? My top memory is running the LuluLemon Half Marathon and catching a glimpse of this guy. The best part was when he came back the next year in the same onesie..that's dedication my friends. Share the stories and let those happy endorphins fly!  

My boys named him Captain Onesie




My husband and I at Lululemon Half Marathon..
our onsies were in the wash that day

Sunday, March 23, 2014

How to accidentally run 20 miles

I hate mornings.
It's a well known fact in my family that I am no good to anybody in the morning (unless you're into bodily harm..50 shades fan anyone?) Until I have either #1. Gotten back from my run #2. Drank a Mt. Dew or #3. It's after 10am... if you really want to play it safe combine all 3.
Now, for my friends and non family (i.e. people I would never let see my dark side) they seem shocked when I say I am not a morning person. "What??" they ask "How can that be?? You get up and run at 5am, in the dark, in the snow, with a headlamp for goodness sakes!"
And while it may be true that I will sacrifice all manner of comforts like 8 hours of sleep, and suffer personal humiliation for my running friends, I do not, in fact, enjoy mornings.


OK so this is a camera not a headlamp but you get the picture...not cool

So this Saturday when my masochist running buddy Tami was out of town, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to sleep in, slack off and run a few miles in the sunshine sans embarrassing headlamp. The plan was to run 3 miles with a new running friend Megan at 7am, meet up with another friend Andrea at 730am for 6 miles and then run another 3 or so miles alone for 12 total miles. Well as all good plans go, this one took the scenic route.
We met, we ran, we stopped for bathroom breaks and both friends surprised me by letting me talk them into more miles. This just goes to show that the sunshine is a big motivator when you live in Washington State. You can talk people into anything when the sun is shining and they need a hit of Vitamin D.

After dropping off my last friend, I thought, what the heck, I'll add a few more miles in. Who cares if I haven't seen my husband all week? Or that the kids are most definitely awake by now, or that (and this is almost embarrassing to admit) that my Mom and Dad are in town staying with me for the weekend...they won't really miss me, right?? 

So I took off into the sunshine, the frigid 17 degrees had warmed up to a balmy 32 and I was feeling good. Enter in Three unsuspecting runners...these gals looked fast, they looked about my age and if I'm being honest, my playlist just wasn't cutting it. So I did what any solo runner would do...I cut in to their group and introduced myself.
It goes something like this

Me: "hey...you girls look fast"
Them...looking worried...this girl is crazy
Me "so, how many miles are you running today?"
Them...still wary...probably thinking 'Run faster maybe we can ditch her'
Them "Um 16, we are running the last 3 at 8:20 pace and increasing" please take the hint crazy and step off
Me breathing heavy " so..that sounds fun, mind if I tag along"


See only in the running world can you accost people on the street just because you are bored and want someone to chat with. And hey, one gal was wearing a Lululemon ear warmer, that makes us kindred spirits, right?

It turns out we are all running the same Marathon in June (Winderemere) and we are all trying to qualify for Boston with a 3:40 finish time. These poor girls never had a chance. Once they said that I was on them like white on rice.  I may have forced them to give me their cell phone numbers, and I may have already texted them to meet up next week because, hey, a girl has to have options and a 7am running buddy is a good option to have!

Now to round out my 20 mile morning..after I dropped off my latest hostages to their cars I had about a mile to run back to the Gym to get to my own sweet ride (hello minivan). I was on my final mile and I was feeling pretty awesome for putting myself out there and making new friends, when I ran into my DRF Vicki (that's Daily Running Friend for all you...okay I just made up that acronym to feel special...get used to it, it will happen a lot).

Vicki is training for Boston and is dealing with an injury so I wasn't expecting to see her. So I did what all good DRF's do (see.. handy little thing) and I jumped into her 4 mile run to run with her. Why not, right? Again, sunshine is to blame.
Vicki is a machine. She pushes me every time we run together. After a few miles she could see that I was tired and ready to be done. I am silently hoping she will slow down and tell me an entertaining story to get my mind of the last 2 grueling miles..sounds nice right? Dream on. Oh no, instead she says, "Okay Tara find a good song and plug in, let's see how fast we can finish this thing.". And that my friend is where the pain begins. I'm running, I'm sweating...all those lulu layers are doing their job too well...and I have to pee...like really have to pee. But this is Vicki and she never quits and because I want to someday get myself to Boston and be as fast as she is, I suck it up and finish strong with an 8mm pace and maybe just a little bit of dare I say it...pee in my pants.
But it was worth it. 20 miles done and over. Vitamin D acquired, 3 new running friends made and another great Saturday long run complete.

So what is the craziest thing that has happened to you on a run? Ever peed your pants? Ever forced a running friendship on a stranger? Let's hear it..

Let the insanity begin

You know that nagging voice inside your head that keeps bugging you to do something? The one you wish you could turn off, or hit snooze or ignore indefinitely? Yes, that's the one, the Jiminy Cricket inside us all who sometimes is just begging for some roach spray.


Not so cute now eh?
Well that's the voice that for years has been squeaking out to me to start a blog. And of course like any good procrastinator I keep saying, um no. no thanks. not me. Why ignore the voice of inspiration you ask? Well, for many reasons. The first being, I'm pretty much only funny in my head or late at night or in that socially awkward kind of way that borders on inappropriate in good company.

 Secondly..it would require me to put myself out to the cyber world for critique, and as much as I like myself (and yes, I am my #1 fan)...I'm not a big fan of criticism..unless I'm the one giving it out...anonymously usually and then I still have to apologize, because hey, that lady in the walmart photo with nude pants might be very lovely and who am I to judge her flesh toned attire?

See I just don't like the pressure! I'm kind of a procrastinator at heart, it works for me most of the time. Until I have to work, or have family coming to visit, or possibly need to teach my 5 year old his ABC's before school starts...all very good things to consider ahead of time.
But when a running friend said that I should start a blog about running and style and that she would be my (possibly only) follower, I thought to myself "why the heck not!:" I mean those teenage dreams of being the next great novelist have died down (mostly), and I don't currently work as a travel photographer for National Geographic...although the hope is still alive baby! So I'm giving it a shot..I'm going to blog about my marathon training...my financially crippling addiction to running clothes (ahem Lulu Lemon) and where to buy all thosetrendy clothes I never actually get to wear. Throw in a few embarrassing tidbits about runners trots and leg cramps and I'm feeling a winning combination. I'm sure my one running friend will enjoy it, and if not, hey there's always that novel to finish!



T